Nine Days Of Navratri

Navratri in Sanskrit means ‘nine nights’. It is a hindu festival which is celebrated over a period of nine days in the month of Ashvin, which typically falls in the months of late September, October or early November. Navratri, also called Sharad Navratri is celebrated in the honour of Goddess Durga and each day has a significance towards the various forms of Goddess Durga. If you want to know more about these nine nights in detail and about the various forms of Goddess Durga for which these nights are celebrated, then keep on reading.

Day 1 - Pratipada/Ghatasthapna

The first day of Navratri is observed for Devi Shailputri. Shailputri means the daughter of Shaila, which are mountains, also known as Parvati or Hemavati. Shailaputri is known to be the daughter of the Himalayas, and is the first among the Navadurgas.

Devi Shailaputri or Devi Parvati  is the consort of Lord Shiva and the mother of Lord Ganesha and Kartikeya. It is said that one should worship Maa Shailputri to make full use of the precious human life. Therefore, this Avtar of Goddess Durga is worshipped on the first day of Navratri.

Day 2 - Dwitya

The second day of the Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Brahmacharini. Brahmacharini means the one who practices devout austerity. She blesses all her devotees with happiness, peace, prosperity and grace.

The word ‘Brahm’ means penance, hence, her name refers to the one who performs penance. Devrishi Narada influenced her to practice tough penance to obtain Lord Shiva as her divine consort. Her penance was so pure that it created turbulence in all the three worlds. Her desire was eventually fulfilled after a penance of hundreds of years. She Signifies extreme mental and emotional strength. Her blessings help you get rid of selfishness, ego, greed and laziness.

Day 3 - Tritiya

The third face of Goddess Durga is ‘Maa Chandraghanta’, and is worshiped on the third day of the Navratri. She is worshipped for peace, tranquility and prosperity in life. She has a Chandra or half moon in the shape of a ghanta or bell, on her forehead.

She is known for her bravery and has great strength to fight against demons. By worshipping Devi Chandraghanta, you can open the doors to great respect, fame and glory. Her idol, which symbolises both beauty and bravery, gives you the strength the keep the negative energy away and repels all the troubles from your life.

Day 4 - Chaturthi

On the fourth day of Navratri, Goddess Durga is worshipped in the form of Kushmanda Mata. Kushmanda signifies to the warmth given to the cosmic egg. She practically is considered as the creator of the universe.

The universe was suppose to be a mere voids full of darkness until her light spread in all directions.  She is also known as Adishakti or Adiswarup. Her divine blessings help improve health and wealth. She removes all troubles and sorrows from the life of her devotees.

Day 5 - Panchami

The fifth facet of Goddess Durga is Skandmata, the mother of Skand or Lord Kartikeya. Lord Kartikeya was chosen by the Gods to lead them in a war against the demons. She is worshipped on the fifth day of the Navratri and usually portrays being accompanied by the infant Skand.

Devi Skandmata’s devotees get love and affection from her and get all their desires fulfilled just as a mother would do for her child. You may attain supreme joy even in this very mortal world. Her worship automatically includes the worship of Lord Kartikeya in his child form.

Day 6 - Shashti

The sixth form of Goddess Durga is called Katyayani, and is worshipped on day six of the Navratri. Mata Katyayani blesses her devotees for health, wealth and strength to fight diseases and sorrows. It also said that one should religiously worship Mata Katyayani in order to destruct the sins accumulated over several lives.

It is believed that once upon a time there was a great sage called Kata with a son named Katya. Kata underwent long penance in order to receive the grace of Goddess Durga. He wished to have a daughter in the form of Goddess Durga and hence, Mata Katyayani was born to Kata.

Day 7 - Saptami

The seventh form of Goddess Durga is Maa Kalratri. She is worshipped on the seventh Navratri. She has a dark complexion and a fearless posture. She has three eyes which shine bright and flames emanate from her breath. She is responsible for fighting and signifies the victory of good over evil.

Maa Kalratri teaches that sorrow, pain, destruction, decay and death are unavoidable. THese are the truths of life and there is no point in ignoring them. One should accept death as they accept birth as it signifies the fullness of a living being.

Day 8 - Ashtami

Maha Gauri is worshipped on the eighth day of the Navratri as the eighth form of Goddess Durga. She is known to be intelligent, peaceful and calm. It is said that due to her long penance in the deep forests of the Himalayas, her colour changed from white to dark. However, Lord Shiva later cleaned her with the Ganges water and she regained her beauty and came to be known as Maha Gauri.

Maha Gauri is known to purify the souls of her devotees and removing their sins. She has a calming effect on their lives and make them free from the material desires and helps improve their knowledge.

Day 9 - Navmi

Mata Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Goddess Durga and known to be worshipped on the ninth Navratri. She blesses all Gods, saints, tantric, yogis and all her devotees. She is suppose to have supernatural healing powers.

She has infinite power and glory and worshiping her on the ninth day bestows all siddhis and good luck to her devotees. She is known to bless her devotees with health, wealth and all good things in life.

With the ninth day and the puja of Mata Siddhidatri, it marks an end to this massive nine day festival. People consider Navratri to be utmost auspicious days and also buy new things like new house, new car, gold and much more during this time. It is also a good time to shop for yourself. In this fast paced time, you can always have online shopping as a backup option for your Navratri shopping spree.

So a very Happy Navratri to all and wish you a happy Dusshera!


Popular Post